A Summer Garden Quilt

Many times I pull ideas from nature when I am making a quilt or some other sewing project.

Summer Quilt

Summer Garden Quilt

When I saw this fabric collection I knew that I had to have it.

The Layout

The Layout

The colors are so fun and remind me of nature. I love the play of insects incorporated into the design.

The Press

Hot Off the Press

Then I meditate on what stitch pattern to use. I am a hand quilter so I enjoy personalizing the stitch pattern too.

The Leaf Stitch

The Leaf Stitch

A Trellis Border

A Trellis Border

In between watering the garden and trying to keep the chickens cool – er, I hope to have this completed by the end of summer.

Please share your thoughts.

