Growing Season in Full Swing

It has been unseasonably hot for us in SW ID. We haven’t had any rain for over a month. The garden plants are growing like crazy, although there are some plants that are stressed. It takes diligence to keep it all going. I am out in the early morning hours getting my chores done before the heat SLAPS me in the face.

Lavender, sage, rosemary and a "pinch" of mint being watched over by my cat and mouse statue.

Lavender, sage, rosemary and a “pinch” of mint being watched over by my cat and mouse statue.

My gardening is done in raised beds. So much easier on my back and knees and very little, if any, weeding. Got to love a weed-free garden! Raised beds do require more water.  I make use of soaker hoses on some of the beds. This way I can deep water once or twice a week depending on the temperatures. (You could also use a drip irrigation system.) My beds are made of cinder blocks and filled with a blend of top soil, compost and peat moss. Some plants may require further amending, such as those that are heavy feeders. I simply side dress those plants as often as needed. My tomatoes get a side dressing of a balanced “tomato booster” every three weeks from the time they begin blooming.

Tomatoes

Tomatoes

You can grow nearly anything in raised beds.

You could even plant in the holes of the cinder blocks. Perhaps a beneficial companion plant such as marigolds, petunias, or any other of your favorites. Perhaps some low growing thyme or some other low growing herb.

Have fun gardening!

Debra

6 thoughts on “Growing Season in Full Swing

  1. How did you fill it with so much soil? Did you just buy many bags of soil? The garden looks great! Wish my garden was as green and lively as yours. Excellent job! I’m gonna look for those stick thingys the next time I go to a gardening store.

    Like

    • On some of the beds they are about half full of just “dirt”. I then cover them with landscaping fabric to prevent weeds from emerging. Then blend bags of compost, peat and manure or top soil. I usually go light on the manure as it can burn plants and also cause LOTS of green growth but no blooms. I use a ratio of 1 3 cu. ft. bale peat moss; 1 2 cu. ft. bag compost; and 4 cu. ft. topsoil. This is for a 3×4 ft. bed about 8 inches deep. Vary the ratio depending on what you are planting and the size of your bed. Some of my beds are 2 ft wide x 10 ft long. If planting potatoes or another type of root crop, say carrots, you would need a minimum of 12 inches deep. Corn is a heavy feeder so a little more manure or side dress with a balanced fertilizer every two weeks after the tassels set on the tops of the corn until the ears of corn begin to fill in well with kernels. Garden supports are available in garden stores or online. Happy gardening. Thanks for stopping by. Debra

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, I didn’t know that about manure not giving blooms. Thanks for the detailed info! Will follow to continually learn from ya!

    Like

    • It is always a good idea to use a balanced fertilizer to meet the needs of the individual plants. Prior to your Spring planting refresh the soil with amendments such as a good finished compost. This lightens compacted soils and gives benificials such as earthworms new material to work in which benefits the soil. If you use a till to prepare your soil you cut up those worms. That is another advantage to raised bed gardening…no tilling. I use diatomaceous earth around my plants if I see damage by cut worms or earwigs.

      Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts.

