Tomato Hornworm Invasion

I have two tomato plants that I planted in rain barrels that are on my back patio. On Saturday my hubby and I discovered that the plants were being consumed by unwanted visitors. We picked a dozen plus hornworms off the two plants. This morning while I was walking past the plants I noticed another…

20150707_104141

I went back inside and got my leather glove and a re-purposed empty cottage cheese tub with some dish soap and water in the tub. Then the hunt was on.

20150707_104434

Sorry this shot was a little blurry…trying to hold the camera/phone and take a picture while holding the creature in my other hand. They are a bit creepy.

20150707_105433

I would love to garden without unwanted pests but I guess that will never happen.

These creatures can consume a great deal of the plant in record time.

20150707_105600

They are however no match for some soapy water and my diligence of keeping my plants free of unwanted visitors!

20150707_105647

I am still fighting the battle against the earwigs. This year they are extremely abundant following our unusually mild winter.

This is what is left of my parsley plant.

20150707_105626

I keep putting out diatomaceous earth to kill them. It is working but there are so many that it is something that must be done every few days especially after watering.

BUT I WILL WIN!    🙂

2 thoughts on “Tomato Hornworm Invasion

Please share your thoughts.

