Busy Harvesting Time

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It is that time of year…if you farm and/or garden you are deep into harvesting time in the northern hemisphere of the USA. I grew my garden in raised beds this year. I have mixed reviews.

The snow peas and green beans did not produce much. I was able to only can six quarts of green beans. Sad. The snow peas only produced four freezer containers. Sad. The potatoes grown in bins produced horribly. We only harvested about ten pounds. Very sad.

I processed a lot of peppers from six plants. I chopped them up and put them in the freezer so I could scoop out what I wanted when I needed them for recipes. I grew chili peppers, jalapeno and bullhorn sweet peppers.

I am still picking tomatoes. I canned some whole; some I added spices to so that they were ready to dump into chili or season enchiladas; some I seasoned for spaghetti with garlic, basil, oregano, and parsley (the herbs I grew this year too). Yesterday I cooked some tomatoes down, cooled, removed the skins, pureed, seasoned and now I have ready made tomato soup. I put that in the freezer. There will still be more tomatoes to process for two to three weeks depending on when the temperatures dip below freezing. The ripening process slows considerably when the night time temperatures drop. We have been having lows in the 50’s and even upper 40’s the past couple of weeks.

Last week I processed peaches…LOTS of peaches…all from one tree. I made peach jam, peach butter, peach sauce, peach halves, peach crisp, and last night I finished up with peach cobbler. (That didn’t last long. Our daughter came and helped process the cobbler 🙂 ).  I FINALLY finished the peaches. So thankful for the bumper crop because it filled the shelves and freezer and will probably last us a two to three years. That’s a good thing because the tree split and now must be replaced with a new tree. Even after thinning the fruit and propping up branches the tree couldn’t handle the load. I still have black beans to harvest. Waiting for those plants to die back for harvesting.

We are indeed thankful for the harvest and for the ability to put food in storage to provide for us in the next season. Genesis 8:22 – Continuously, all the days of the earth, seed-time and harvest, cold and heat, summer and winter, day and night, shall not cease.

Blessings to you, Debra

Please share your thoughts.

