Why Do I Write?

Some people enjoy sports. Some have hobbies. Some people enjoy parties. Some enjoy travel. Some people enjoy reading. Some enjoy writing. The list is endless of how people enjoy spending their time.

I am a person that enjoys solitude. It is not that I don’t want to be around anyone, it is just that I do my best thinking, reflecting and pondering when I am alone.

I have kept a journal for years, no decades. Sometimes it has been boring dribble about my day to day activities, definitely not material for a novel. Perhaps I just need to change my perspective and say that differently.

I have been writing my memoir for years. 

Wow! I never thought of it that way! I must admit I have read some boring memoirs (autobiographies) that have been written and published and some have claimed them to be excellent. I guess that is a matter of opinion of which we each have a right to express.

I am on a journey of discovering more about myself. I am old enough to no longer be trapped in the pit of what others think of me. I cannot please all the people all the time. I did not begin blogging to achieve a popularity award. I began blogging to get me out of my own “homemade” box.

To me writing is an expression of what is locked within us. It is an art. It requires unpacking. It takes time. It takes effort. Whether you write non-fiction, fiction, history, fantasy or some other genre, it requires that you unpack the gift within you.

Excuse me…I have some unpacking to do. 

Please share your thoughts.

