Comfort Food

This time of the year always makes me feel like baking/cooking. We recently had some comfort food and I wanted to share some of it with you. Pull up a chair; sit down and enjoy the meal (s). 

2013-09-16_breakfast

First off…breakfast! Occasionally on a Saturday morning we have French Toast. It is a treat! I use a hearty bread, usually my homemade. Challah works great for this if you can find it commercially or make your own. Rosauers is the only store I have found in my local area that sells it. Start by drying your bread in a 300 degree oven. Place your bread slices right on the rack and dry for about 10 minutes with the rack in the center position in the oven. Mix up your batter. My quick recipe is this: Eggs, milk, flour, salt, vanilla, cinnamon. Adjust the proportions for the amount you will be cooking. For KW and myself that is 4 – 6 slices of bread; 2 eggs, slightly beaten; 2 tablespoons of flour; dash of salt; 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla; cinnamon to taste preference. Gently whisk ingredients together until incorporated. I say gently because if you get rough with the eggs it will affect the custard like texture of your end product. I put my batter in a glass pie plate right next to my skillet. Preheat your skillet on medium low. That’s 4 on my electric stove top. Place a slice in the batter and let soak on each side about 30 + seconds. Place a pat of butter in the skillet and swirl it around to coat the bottom. Place bread in skillet. Repeat with remaining bread. Cook until nicely browned on each side. You want the interior to be like custard or soft bread pudding. Cook’s Illustrated has an awesome recipe if you are interested in looking at it first hand. We like ours topped with fresh fruit. Sometimes I like to add cream cheese. (pictured above) Drizzle with maple syrup. 

2013-10-01_17-36-49_476

Call it whatever you want but this is one version of homemade chicken noodle soup. I had broccoli and carrots on hand. The noodles are store-bought from Costco. I add chunks of chicken. Start by boiling the noodles in a pot of salted water. These noodles take a bit of time because they are thick like homemade. I pre-cooked the cut up carrots and broccoli together in another pot while the noodles cooked. If you are in a hurry open a box of chicken broth. I buy organic as much as possible. When the noodles are done (al-dente) drain in a colander. Add the whole box of chicken broth to the pot the noodles were in. Don’t worry with washing it first. Add the drained noodles, the cooked vegetables and again if you are taking shortcuts, a can of chicken chunks. Heat through. Season with salt and pepper to taste. You can be creative and add garlic, onion, sage, oregano, etc. Serve this soup with cornbread or biscuits and enjoy the warm feeling inside. : )

Please share your thoughts.

