Easy Fruit Bars

I wanted to make a quick snack and not heat up the kitchen or spend a long time putting something together. I came across this recipe and decided to give it a try. I had quickly written it down on a piece of scratch paper. I cannot remember where I found this recipe. My apologies to the creator of such a quick and easy dessert. 

Fruit Bars

Fruit Bars

Ingredient List:

1 cup all-purpose flour           1 cup quick cook oats              1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt                    1/4 teaspoon baking soda          1/2 cup cold butter, cubed

3/4 cup fruit preserves

Lightly grease an 8-inch square baking pan. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large mixing bowl combine dry ingredients. Using a pastry blender cut in the butter until the mixture resembles coarse sand. Divide the mixture in half. Press half into the bottom of the prepared pan. Spread with the preserves. Top with remaining mixture. Bake at 350 degrees 35 – 40 minutes. Remove from the oven and cool in pan on a wire rack. Makes 16 bars.

These are very yummy. I used peach preserves for mine. I also used dark brown sugar. I didn’t have quick cook oats because I always buy the old-fashioned. I simply put the oats in my food processor and pulsed a few times until I thought they resembled the way quick cook oats look (you know, mostly chopped up with a few not so chopped up). You could use apricot or strawberry, blackberry, or raspberry preserves. I’m not sure but you might be able to get away with using apple butter too. Go ahead and experiment. I had to hurry up and get a picture before they were all gone. 

This photo is the property of gardengateproject and may not be copied or reproduced.

Please share your thoughts.

