Labor of Love

The stitching has begun.

Safe and Secure

Safe and Secure

The whole process of putting together a quilt is a labor of love for me. From choosing the fabric and matching thread, pre-washing the fabric, cutting out the pattern pieces, putting the puzzle together and then putting the quilt in my big round hoop and beginning the hand quilting.

Deciding how to quilt the pattern is another decision to make. Depending on the fabric, thread and then to whom the quilt will go to determines just how many stitches I put into the quilt.

Star Points

Star Points

The heavier the fabric, such as flannel, the fewer stitches I have. I will many times choose a random stippling effect for flannel. The star quilt pictured in this post is all cotton. I am quilting most of the seams and doing some custom design work. I am adding a few “diamond” designs because I was thinking of what a nice wedding gift this would be for someone special. I will also be using a stencil to add a quilted design to the four outer corners and will invent something (?) for the outer borders. I will show you the borders in a later post.

Star Light

Star Light

If I know a quilt will get a great deal of use and/or it is going to a youngster I add more stitches. I want to make sure this quilt lasts for a long time…generations if possible. 😀

Have a blessed weekend. Debra

Greater love has no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. John 15:13 (KJV)

2 thoughts on “Labor of Love

Please share your thoughts.

