Pondering Patient Peace

Would you believe it is snowing again today??? I know it is winter and snow is not uncommon but I am enjoying the peacefulness of it so much. It has been snowing since daylight and we have about an inch of new powder snow to add to what we received Christmas Eve (also about an inch). This type of weather inspires me with all kinds of projects…choosing one is the challenge!

I have a couple of paintings I want to do; I have fabric stashed for “five” (yes, five) quilt tops; indoor projects; seed catalogs to browse; everyday household chores; baking bread…the list goes on and on.

I completed a throw size quilt just before Christmas. I am embarrassed to say that I have been working on it off and on for just over four years. I’ve never taken that long to complete a quilt but I think that this was a “pondering” quilt. The colors remind me of my teen years in the 1970’s. My daughter has been wanting it ever since I purchased the fabric. I kept telling her it was my retro quilt and I would leave it to her in my will. She wasn’t looking forward to having to wait that long. 🙂

Keeping me in Stitches

Keeping me in Stitches

I enjoy quilting by hand. I never have enjoyed machine quilting. My grandma taught me how to make tiny stitches. I have made many quilts. The process of joining three layers; the process of binding them all together; even the thread, thimble and scissors; all of it bringing three together. A unifying of three unique and individual things to bring warmth and comfort. The unseen product of my love is woven into each and every quilt I make.

I cannot help but ponder how God has chosen to shape each of us into the unique individuals that we each are. Each one of us being a special design, a one of a kind creation with no two exactly alike.

"Retro - spect"

“Retro – spect”

So I made my daughter wait to open the “big” package last at Christmas. She didn’t have a clue what it could be. The look on her face when she pulled back the tissue paper was priceless. I thought she might cry. Needless to say, she was very surprised to receive the coveted quilt that she had desired, longed for, pleaded for. And all is well.

Blessings to you for a wonderful week. Debra

Well Received

Well Received

17 thoughts on “Pondering Patient Peace

  1. Very beautiful – did you hand quilt it? Quilts are always the perfect gift! Enjoy that snow, I love it when it falls and then dislike it when it gets all mushy and dirty…but that is the price we must pay for one of God’s beautiful seasons. Soft music, hot tea, a good book or sewing while enjoying the peaceful snowfall always equals serene moments. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you Patty. Yes I am a hand quilter. I do like the snow when it is clean and fresh. More sewing to do this afternoon right after I make a loaf of pumpkin bread. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment. Blessings to you for a great week. Debra

      Like

      • I admire you! I have yet to get the hang of hand quilting and hope one day to learn. I guess I do the stab and pull (I think that is what the Amish lady told me!) So mine are either tied or machine quilted. Happy sewing!

        Like

  2. Oh ! What a beautiful quilt Debra, you are so talented ! I am no good at any stitching project but, like you so beautifully said, we are all made different and we all have different talents. You obviously have a great talent for stitching and I admire that !
    Oh, the heart of a mother… 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Jocelyne. I do enjoy putting things together. And my children are very dear to my heart. They each have several quilts that I have made them over the years. Quilting is a great time for me to meditate.
      May you have a blessed week. Thanks so much for stopping by and taking the time to leave a comment.
      Debra

      Like

  3. I love that you quilt by hand – such a beautiful craft. Not one that I do myself, but I certainly appreciate those that do! I’ve often thought of this world being like a patchwork quilt – combinations of colors I’d never think to join, woven together to form His masterpiece! 🙂

    Like

    • Each and everyone of us have been given special talents…some in action, some yet to be discovered. Life is ever unfolding and revealing new things. “He is new every morning…great is His faithfulness. 😉

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

