The Doting or Coaching Father

Father and Daughter Fishing Excursion

Everyone wants to be loved. Everyone finds satisfaction in being needed and useful. It brings fulfillment to a part of our very being.

I have known some who seem to want things on a silver platter, as the saying goes. However I find myself asking, is this a good thing?

I was raised in such a way as to know that it is honorable to work for the things you desire in life. I was taught that pleasure is found in setting goals and achieving those goals.

To be handed things on a silver platter always makes me wonder who paid the price for this costly item.

My husband and I chose to “homeschool” our children. This was, and in some circles still is, a controversial topic. I continually found inventive and challenging ways to teach our children 24/7. Yes, we studied all the standard items taught in conventional schooling but we also found so many things to study and learn all around us in our everyday life.

Our son, who will soon be 26, was challenged by fractions in Mathematics so we closed the book and went to the kitchen where I proceeded to have him help me put cookies together. After having him help me in the kitchen for a season of time (not all of it being cookies that we made together), fractions were no longer a problem for him. He excels in Mathematics today!  He also has a great understanding of computers. He patiently coaches me when I become frustrated with my laptop. He also excels in History.

Our daughter, who is 23, enjoyed Science so much, even to the point of mixing things together and putting them in her headboard to see how they reacted only to find that some things BLOW UP. (Her headboard thankfully had doors on it so she was not injured. She only had a mess to clean up.) We would spend hours together outdoors investigating all of the glorious things around us. She is also quite a wordsmith. She is working toward being a published writer hoping one day to complete her novel. She has written poetry and many short stories.

I guess you could say my husband and I have always challenged our children to study, research and explore the things around them; to search out answers to the questions they have. In my opinion, they have turned out quite nicely. My husband and I are very proud of them.

Doting: Extravagantly or foolishly loving and indulgent ( WordWeb)

Coaching: Teach and supervise (someone) (WordWeb)

Hand to on a silver platter: Provide with something valuable for nothing, or give an unearned reward to (http://idioms.yourdictionary.com)

I cannot help but think of what God has given me. He has given me so much. He has given me what I could never buy or achieve with my own efforts; an unearned reward.

Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a workman who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth. 2 Timothy 2:15 (NIV Bible)

May you have a blessed week.

Debra

4 thoughts on “The Doting or Coaching Father

Please share your thoughts.

