Why So Downcast?

This past weekend was highly productive. My husband was blessed with a three-day weekend and I had plenty of projects for him. 😀 Some were completed and some were not. There is always next weekend. Five trees were removed that were not fulfilling their job effectively. Two cherry trees and three apple trees were removed. Holes were filled in after removing the stump and the ground leveled. Thanks dear husband!

On Monday my husband and I spent several hours with our daughter shopping so we could buy things for more projects! We delivered our daughter safely to her apartment and we went home to unwind. Why is shopping so tiring? Since the evenings are getting cooler for us in the Intermountain area we built a small fire in our chiminea and enjoyed conversation.

Cozy Fire

The work week began bright and early Tuesday morning at 4 a.m. My husband is working four 10 hour days to offset the time off for Labor Day. I have several projects of my own to complete. I will post some pictures of those in an upcoming article. I took some sunrise pictures this morning. I so enjoy sunrise and our home is situated on a hill that gives me a great view of the sun rising over the mountains beyond.

I was thinking of how many sunrises and sunsets many people miss seeing because of one reason or another. How many gorgeous blue skies are missed? How many cloud formations go unseen? How many night skies full of stars are never noticed? I was thinking about how we may tend to go through life with our eyes focused on things beneath our feet. Our eyes cast on the ground; on our fallen nature. In Psalm 121:1, 2 it says,  I lift up my eyes to the hills–where does my help come from? My help comes from the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth. (NIV) Psalm 43:5 says, Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God. (NIV)I would encourage you to lift up your head. Enjoy the sunsets. Be adventurous and get up early enough to see a sunrise. Notice the many shades of blue of the sky. Enjoy the cloud formations. Drive out of the city so you can see the night sky lit up with billions of stars. Watch the moon rise. Take time to enjoy God’s creation. Stop and listen to the birds sing. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matthew 6:34 NIV)

Clouds on the Horizon

I am attaching a YouTube clip of Chris Tomlin singing How Great is Our God. ENJOY! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ZFN8TBfgNU&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Have a blessed week. From Debra who is enjoying the view from the hilltop.

Please share your thoughts.

